Watch NASA and SpaceX make second attempt to launch astronauts to space



Saturday now marks the first time in nearly a decade that American astronauts will launch into space from U.S. soil following the postponement of Wednesday’s launch due to weather concerns.

The mission is scheduled to send NASA astronauts Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley to space aboard the Crew Dragon capsule, designed by Tesla founder Elon Musk’s SpaceX company. The launch is taking place at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida at 12:22 p.m. PT/3:22 p.m. ET on Saturday, May 30.

Coverage will begin with pre-flight preparations at 11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET.If weather or other factors prevent the launch from happening again on Saturday as it is currently planned, SpaceX and NASA will push the launch to Sunday with a 60 percent chance of being able to begin the mission on that day.The spacecraft is intended to dock with the International Space Station.

As CNET reports, the Demo-2 mission is “part of NASA’s Commercial Crew Program, which involves two commercial spaceflight companies, SpaceX and Boeing, building and launching crew capsules designed to ferry astronauts to and from the ISS.”

If all goes to plan, the May 30 event will mark the first time SpaceX has launched humans into space.

Source

NASA depot banner for NASA merge NASA hoodies NASA T-shirts and NASA accessories